General Mills recalling 1.8M Cheerios boxes on allergy risk

General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced at a plant in Lodi, California, saying the cereal is labeled gluten-free but actually contains wheat.

The recall affects Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios that were made in July. The Minneapolis company says was inadvertently used in a system that normally processes gluten-free oat flour.

The use of wheat flour means the cereals are not gluten-free, and people with conditions like wheat allergies or who consume it might suffer an allergic reaction or discomfort.

General Mills Inc. said Monday it will take the cereals out of warehouses and off store shelves, and says customers who cannot eat wheat should contact the company for a replacement box or a full refund.


Explore further

'Gluten-free' labeling standards kick in

© 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.

Citation: General Mills recalling 1.8M Cheerios boxes on allergy risk (2015, October 5) retrieved 7 August 2020 from https://medicalxpress.com/news/2015-10-mills-recalling-18m-cheerios-allergy.html
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.
17 shares

Feedback to editors

User comments