Colombia will isolate travelers arriving from China, Spain, France and Italy in an attempt to curb the spread of the new coronavirus in the South American country, President Ivan Duque said Wednesday.

"Given the implications of the quarantine by China, Italy, Spain and France, the is adopting the preventive isolation of people coming from those countries to protect the collective health," he said on Twitter.

Colombia has three confirmed cases of the coronavirus infection, two of whom had been in Spain and a third who had arrived from Italy.