Milk allergy? Watch the dark chocolate
Does your sweetheart have a milk allergy? You may want to hold off on a dark chocolate Valentine.
A new Food and Drug Administration study released Wednesday says there are traces of milk in some dark chocolate candies.
The agency found that 55 of 93 bars of dark chocolate "without any clear indication of the presence of milk" on their labels contained some level of milk. Two out of 17 dark chocolate bars that were labeled "dairy free or allergen free" also contained milk.
The FDA would not identify the brands that contain milk.
Milk is one of several allergens required to be labeled on food packages. The agency tested dark chocolate after hearing from consumers who said they had eaten it and experienced harmful reactions.
© 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.