Coronavirus: main measures taken in Europe

Confinements, schools, shops and borders closed, gatherings banned. Here are the main measures being taken in Europe to fight the spread of the novel coronavirus.


France has followed Italy and Spain in imposing a strict lockdown, prohibiting all but "necessary movements" like shopping and medical visits and banning gatherings for the next two weeks, on pain of fines.

Austria and the Czech Republic have also taken strict confinement measures.

German citizens also have to "stay at home", and not go on holiday.

Britons have been told to avoid "non-essential contact" and travel. Elderly people and there are advised to go into isolation for three months.

Greece and Italy have imposed a 14-day quarantine on all arrivals.

People returning from the main hotspots must stay at home for two weeks in Croatia, Estonia, Latvia, Norway, Russia and Slovakia.

State of emergency

Armenia, Kazakhstan, Moldova and Switzerland have declared states of emergency.

In France, 100,000 police have been deployed to control peoples' movements.

Borders controlled or closed

European Union leaders were holding a videoconference to decide to close the outer borders of the 27-nation bloc for 30 days.

Hungary and Spain have closed their land borders.

Germany has stepped up with several countries, only allowing through goods transit and workers.

Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Lithuania and Slovakia have announced the closure of their borders to foreigners, with Slovakia making an exception for Poles.

Russia has closed its land borders with Norway and Poland.

Austria has closed its border with Italy and Switzerland.

Moldova has closed most of its land borders from midnight.

Schools closed

Schools, universities and creches are closed in Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey and Ukraine. In Sweden only high schools and universities are closed.

Gatherings banned

In Belgium, Cyprus, France and Italy all gatherings are banned.

Different countries have set widely different caps on the number of people who can get together.

In Turkey, collective prayers are suspended and places of worship closed.

Businesses closed

Austria, Bulgaria, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Slovenia and Ukraine have ordered the closure of all places and shops admitting the public.

Non-essential shops are closed in Andorra, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, and Spain.

Restaurants, bars, nightclubs and cinemas are closed all over Europe including pubs in Ireland and brothels in the Netherlands.

Hungary has closed public places but not shops, while Greece has closed its museums and .

Transport disrupted

Britain has grounded most of its air fleet.

France has announced a gradual reduction of long-distance transport, including buses, planes and trains.

In Germany regional rail transport will also be heavily reduced. Lufthansa will slash up to 90 percent of its long-haul capacity

Poland has cancelled all domestic flights.

Austria has suspended rail links with Italy and air links with Britain, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Russia, Spain, Switzerland and Ukraine.

Turkey has suspended air links with six countries, Bulgaria with Italy and Spain, and Romania with Italy.

Slovenia has halted public transport.

© 2020 AFP

Citation: Coronavirus: main measures taken in Europe (2020, March 17) retrieved 13 April 2024 from
This document is subject to copyright. Apart from any fair dealing for the purpose of private study or research, no part may be reproduced without the written permission. The content is provided for information purposes only.

Explore further

Follow the latest news on the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak


Feedback to editors